Achtung:

Sie haben Javascript deaktiviert!
Sie haben versucht eine Funktion zu nutzen, die nur mit Javascript möglich ist. Um sämtliche Funktionalitäten unserer Internetseite zu nutzen, aktivieren Sie bitte Javascript in Ihrem Browser.

Bild Graduiertenförderung KW Show image information

Bild Graduiertenförderung KW

Checklist & information for before and after entry

Information regarding doctoral studies at the Faculty of Arts and Humanities

Obtain information about the possibility of completing your doctoral degree within your field of study at the Faculty of Arts and Humanities. Use the FAQs for prospective and current doctoral candidates to inform yourself.

If necessary: equivalence assessment & recognition of your university degree

When people with a foreign university degree apply to Paderborn University, the respective university degree is formally checked for equivalence with a German university degree. The PhD board of the Faculty of Arts and Humanities then decides about the admission to the doctoral program. In many cases, before the formal check of the degree, applicants can only be given a rough estimate as to whether they will be admitted to the doctoral program at the Faculty of Arts and Humanities. An "admission with restrictions" (“Zulassung unter Auflagen”) is also possible if it is decided that the degree obtained so far is not sufficient for a doctorate in the desired subject. This may apply if applicants have studied for less than 5 years, have earned less than 300 ECTS or have completed their studies without a master's or state thesis (Staatsarbeit).

 

DAAD Database on admission requirements in Germany

If necessary, formalities of the Human Resources Department of Paderborn University

If you are going to work at the University of Paderborn with a contract of employment or a fee contract: The Human Resources Department is responsible for the employment of international staff.

The Human Resources Department will accompany you from your recruitment to the termination of your employment at Paderborn University, advise you on labor-law related issues, and provide you with information on personnel matters. Please contact the Human Resources Department in time.

 

If necessary, arranging the supervision of your doctoral studies

If you have not already done so, you will have to apply for the supervision of your doctoral studies and therefore need to get in touch with a professor in your field at the Faculty of Arts and Humanities. If you are coming to Paderborn University from a partner university (3rd cycle), please contact the program representative and your supervisor at your home university to arrange a supervision for your time at Paderborn University.

If necessary, hosting agreement

In some cases, e.g. for different scholarships, you will need a hosting agreement. Please get in touch with your contact person at the faculty. If you are working at Paderborn University with a contract of employment, please contact the Human Resources Department.

Application for admission to the doctoral program

Apply for admission to the doctoral program together with your supervisor if you want to complete your entire doctorate at the Faculty of Arts and Humanities. If you come to Paderborn University via a partner university (3rd cycle), you do not have to apply for admission.

Matriculation as a doctoral student

Apply for matriculation as a doctoral student at Paderborn University. If you come to Paderborn University via a partner university (3rd cycle), you do not need to apply for matriculation. You will be automatically matriculated and listed as a "student" and you will have the corresponding rights/duties for your stay at Paderborn University.

Apartment search

Find a suitable accommodation in Paderborn. Please refer to our pages on apartment search for more information.

If you come to Paderborn University via a partner university (3rd cycle), the International Office will support you in your search for accommodation and will usually provide you with a place in a student dormitory.

If necessary, application for a visa

Apply for a national visa for a stay in Germany for the purpose of doctoral studies at the responsible German Federal Foreign Office in your home country. Please make sure that you have sufficient time in advance for the intended start of your doctoral studies/stay abroad, as the processing time can take several months.

Further information on visa and entry can be found here.

If necessary, arrange insurance

To apply for a residence permit in Germany you need a valid health insurance. Please inquire in good time whether your health insurance is recognized in Germany or whether you need additional health insurance, for example.

If necessary, application for financial support

If you are still looking for possibilities for financial support and funding for your doctorate at Paderborn University, you can find out about funding opportunities and, if necessary, apply for funding.

Entry accompanied by family/child(ren)

If you wish to enter in company of underage children/your family: Contact Paderborn University's Family Services Office as early as possible with regard to possible childcare facilities or schools during your stay in Paderborn.

Apply for a national visa for your family members (further information on visa and entry regulations) for a stay in Germany for the purpose of family reunification/family reunion. Please contact the German Federal Foreign Office responsible for issuing visas in your home country for information on any special requirements that may be required in this context (knowledge of German language, minimum apartment size, etc.). Please take particular care to ensure that your family members have sufficient health insurance coverage during your stay in Germany by including them in your contract with a German provider.

Plan your journey

Further information on how to get there can also be found on the website of Paderborn University.

Documents

You will probably need several documents, e.g. for your employment contract and for the application of visa and residence permits. In general, you should bring the following documents with you to Germany:

  • several officially certified copies and, if necessary, translations (English or German) of important documents (for instance marriage certificate, birth certificate, birth certificates of your children/your child, credentials, insurance documents)
  • if applicable, vaccination card
  • if applicable, (international) driving license
  • if applicable, latest school reports of your children
  • if applicable, proof of scholarship/funding
  • if applicable, a confirmation of your health insurance
  • if applicable, invitation/hosting agreement of Paderborn University
  • if necessary, passport photos (website only available in German) (but you can also have the photos taken in Germany)
 

Language preparation

If you would like to improve your German language skills in advance, it is worth taking a look at the website of the Center for Language Studies (website only available in German) at Paderborn University. Here you will find an overview of various recommended websites for learning German.

Registration with the city

Register with the residents' registration office (Einwohnermeldeamt) (website only available in German) within 14 days. A corresponding certificate of registration (Meldebescheinigung) is, among other things, a prerequisite for opening a bank account at a German credit institution.

Opening a bank account

Open a bank account with a German credit institution.

Please note: This information is not legally binding. It cannot replace the information provided by experts, but only gives a first overview of the topic. If necessary, please seek advice from your relevant foreign representative office or other experts.

 

Contact

Anke Riebau

Fakultät für Kulturwissenschaften > Dekanatsmitarbeiter/in Kulturwissenschaften

Internationalization / Faculty Coordinator Incoming & Outgoing Students

Anke Riebau
Phone:
+49 5251 60-4013
Office:
C5.307

Office hours:

All office hours are being held online via Zoom (appointment needed) or simply contact me via email and I'll be happy to help you.

Incoming-students
Feel free to contact me if you have questions reg.:
Learning Agreements
Study-related and academic questions & problems
Course registration
Exam registration

... more

The University for the Information Society

Achtung:

Sie haben Javascript deaktiviert!
Sie haben versucht eine Funktion zu nutzen, die nur mit Javascript möglich ist. Um sämtliche Funktionalitäten unserer Internetseite zu nutzen, aktivieren Sie bitte Javascript in Ihrem Browser.

Bild Graduiertenförderung KW Bildinformationen anzeigen

Bild Graduiertenförderung KW

Checkliste & Informationen für vor und nach der Einreise

Informationen zur Promotion an der KW

Informieren Sie sich über die Möglichkeit einer Promotion innerhalb Ihres Fachgebiets an der Fakultät für Kulturwissenschaften. Beachten Sie hier ggf. die FAQs für Promotioninteressierte und Promovierende.

Ggf. Prüfung der Anerkennung des Hochschulabschlusses

Bei der Bewerbung von Personen mit einem ausländischen Hochschulabschluss an der UPB wird der jeweilige Hochschulabschluss formal auf Gleichwertigkeit mit einem deutschen Universitätsabschluss geprüft. Der Promotionsausschuss der KW entscheidet danach auf Zulassung zur Promotion. Häufig kann den Bewerber*innen vor der formalen Prüfung des Abschlusses nur eine grobe Einschätzung darüber gegeben werden, ob sie zur Promotion an der KW zugelassen werden. Möglich ist ebenfalls eine "Zulassung unter Auflagen", falls entschieden wird, dass der bisher erlangte Abschluss für eine Promotion in dem angestrebten Fach nicht ausreichend ist. Hiervon wird ggf. Gebrauch gemacht, wenn Bewerber*innen weniger als 5 Jahre studiert haben oder weniger als 300 ECTS erworben haben bzw. ihr Studium ohne Master- oder Staatsarbeit abgeschlossen haben.

DAAD Datenbank zur Zulassung zum Wunschstudiengang in Deutschland

Ggf. Formalitäten des Personaldezernats der Universität Paderborn

Wenn Sie mit einem Arbeitsvertrag oder einem Honorarvertrag an der Universität Paderborn arbeiten werden: Für die Einstellung internationaler Mitarbeitenden ist das Personaldezernat zuständig.

Die Personalabteilung begleitet Sie von Ihrer Einstellung bis zur Beendigung Ihres Arbeitsverhältnisses an der Universität Paderborn, berät Sie bei arbeitsrechtlichen Fragen und informiert Sie über Wissenswertes in Personalangelegenheiten. Bitte setzen Sie sich frühzeitig mit dem Personaldezernat in Verbindung.

 

Ggf. Absprache zur Betreuung Ihrer Promotion

Soweit dies nicht schon passiert ist, müssen Sie sich bei einer fachlich passenden Professur an der KW um die Betreuung Ihrer Promotion bewerben bzw. Gespräche hierzu führen. Sollten Sie von einer Partnerhochschule (3rd cycle) an die UPB kommen, sprechen Sie mit der/dem Programmbeauftragten sowie Ihrer/Ihrem Betreuer*in an Ihrer Heimathochschule eine Betreuung für Ihre Zeit an der UPB ab.

Ggf. Hosting Agreement

In einigen Fällen, z.B. bei verschiedenen Stipendien, benötigen Sie ein Hosting Agreement. Bitte wenden Sie sich dafür an Ihre*n Ansprechpartner*in in der Fakultät. Sollten Sie mit einem Arbeitsvertrag an der Universität Paderborn arbeiten, wenden Sie sich bitte an das Personaldezernat.

Beantragung Zulassung zur Promotion

Beantragen Sie gemeinsam mit Ihrer Betreuungsperson die Zulassung zur Promotion, wenn Sie Ihre gesamte Promotion an der KW ablegen möchten. Sollten Sie über eine Partnerhochschule (3rd cycle) an die UPB kommen, so müssen Sie keine Zulassung beantragen.

Einschreibung als Promotionsstudierende*r

Beantragen Sie die Einschreibung als Promotionsstudierende*r an der UPB. Sollten Sie über eine Partnerhochschule (3rd cycle) an die UPB kommen, müssen Sie keine Einschreibung beantragen. Sie werden automatisch als "Studierende*r" eingeschrieben und gelistet und haben somit für Ihren Gastaufenthalt an der UPB entsprechende Rechte/Pflichten.

Wohnungssuche

Suchen Sie sich eine passende Unterkunft in Paderborn. Bitte beachten Sie unsere Seiten zur Wohnungssuche für mehr Informationen.
Sollten Sie über eine Partnerhochschule (3rd cycle) an die UPB kommen, so werden Sie vom International Office bei der Wohnungssuche unterstützt und erhalten zumeist einen Platz im Studierendenwohnheim.

Ggf. Beantragung Visum

Beantragen Sie ein nationales Visum für einen Aufenthalt in Deutschland zum Zweck der Promotion bei der zuständigen deutschen Auslandsvertretung in Ihrem Heimatland. Bitte achten Sie auf einen ausreichenden zeitlichen Vorlauf zum beabsichtigten Beginn Ihrer Promotion/Ihres Auslandsaufenthaltes, da die Bearbeitungszeit mehrere Monate betragen kann.

Weiterführende Informationen zu Visum und Einreise finden Sie hier.

Ggf. Versicherungen abschließen

Für die Beantragung eines Aufenthaltstitels in Deutschland benötigen Sie eine gültige Krankenversicherung. Bitte erkundigen Sie sich rechtzeitig, ob Ihre Krankenversicherung in Deutschland anerkannt wird oder ob Sie zum Beispiel eine zusätzliche Krankenversicherung benötigen.

Ggf. Bewerbung um finanzielle Förderung

Sollten Sie noch Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten und -unterstützung für Ihre Promotion an der UPB suchen, so können Sie sich über Fördermöglichkeiten informieren und ggf. auf Fördermöglichkeiten bewerben.

Begleitung von Familie/Kind(ern)

Falls Sie in Begleitung minderjähriger Kinder/Ihrer Familie anreisen möchten: Nehmen Sie so frühzeitig wie möglich Kontakt zum FamilienServiceBüro der UPB im Hinblick auf ggf. Kinderbetreuungseinrichtungen bzw. Schulen während Ihres Aufenthaltes in Paderborn auf.

Beantragen Sie für Ihre Familienangehörigen ein nationales Visum (weiterführende Informationen zu Visa- und Einreisebestimmungen) für einen Aufenthalt in Deutschland zum Zweck der Familienzusammenführung/des Familiennachzugs. Informieren Sie sich bitte bei der für die Visumsausgabe zuständigen deutschen Auslandsvertretung in Ihrem Heimatland nach ggf. geforderten besonderen Voraussetzungen in diesem Zusammenhang (Deutschkenntnisse, Mindestwohnungsgröße etc.). Bitte achten Sie insbesondere auf die Gewährleistung eines ausreichenden Krankenversicherungsschutzes für Ihre Familienangehörigen während der Zeit Ihres Aufenthaltes in Deutschland, indem Sie diese in Ihren Vertrag mit einem deutschen Anbieter mit einbeziehen.

Anreise planen

Weitere Infos zur Anreise finden Sie auch auf der Website der Universität Paderborn.

Dokumente

Sie werden voraussichtlich einige Dokumente benötigen, bspw. für Ihren Arbeitsvertrag und für die Beantragung von Visa und Aufenthaltstitel. I.d.R. sollten Sie folgende Dokumente mit nach Deutschland bringen:

  • mehrere amtlich beglaubigte Kopien und ggf. Übersetzungen (englisch oder deutsch) von wichtigen Dokumenten (ggf. Heiratsurkunde, ggf. Geburtsurkunde, ggf. Geburtsurkunden Ihrer Kinder/Ihres Kindes, ggf. Zeugnisse, ggf. Versicherungsunterlagen)
  • ggf. Impfausweis
  • ggf. (internationaler) Führerschein
  • ggf. die letzten Schulzeugnisse Ihrer Kinder
  • ggf. Stipendien-/Finanzierungsnachweis
  • ggf. eine Bestätigung Ihrer Krankenversicherung
  • ggf. Einladung/Hosting Agreement der Universität Paderborn
  • ggf. Passfotos (Die Fotos können Sie aber auch in Deutschland machen lassen)
 

Sprachliche Vorbereitung

Wenn Sie im Vorfeld Ihre deutschen Sprachkenntnisse verbessern möchten, lohnt sich ein Blick auf die Website des Zentrums für Sprachenlehre der Universität Paderborn. Hier finden Sie eine Übersicht über verschiedene empfehlenswerte Webseiten zum Deutschlernen.

Anmeldung bei der Stadt

Melden Sie sich innerhalb von 14 Tagen beim Einwohnermeldeamt (Meldebehörde) an. Eine entsprechende Meldebescheinigung ist u.a. Voraussetzung für die Eröffnung eines Bankkontos bei einem deutschen Kreditinstitut.

Eröffnung eines Bankkontos

Eröffnen Sie ein Bankkonto bei einem deutschen Kreditinstitut.

Bitte beachten Sie: Diese Informationen stellen keine rechtsverbindliche Auskunft dar. Sie können nicht die Auskunft von Fachleuten ersetzen, sondern geben nur einen ersten Überblick über das Thema. Bitte lassen Sie sich ggf. bei der zuständigen Auslandsvertretung oder anderen Expert*innen beraten.

Kontakt

Anke Riebau

Fakultät für Kulturwissenschaften > Dekanatsmitarbeiter/in Kulturwissenschaften

Internationalisierung / Fakultätskoordination Incoming- & Outgoing-Studierende

Anke Riebau
Telefon:
+49 5251 60-4013
Büro:
C5.307

Sprechzeiten:

Bis auf Weiteres finden alle Sprechstunden online via Zoom statt. Ich bitte um vorherige Terminabsprache via E-Mail.

Oder: schreiben Sie mir eine E-Mail mit Ihrem Anliegen.

Outgoing-Studierende
Melden Sie sich gerne bei Fragen zu:

Auslandsstudium
Englisches Transcript of Records
Beurlaubungen
Pflichtnachwe... mehr

Die Universität der Informationsgesellschaft